Day 1: Dagomys, Russia

Streets of Dagomys

Day 1: Dagomys, a set on Flickr.

My first day in Dagomys, Russia. I arrived to the Adler Airport, about 10-20 kilometers from Sochi, the future Olympics city, on September 3rd, 2011. It was early morning, so I couldn’t see much of the city.

030

My adventure started at about noon, after I had some decent showing and sleep.

The hotel I was staying at had a pool and offered all-inclusive meals. I was glad that I wouldn’t have to cook or find places to eat, even though it would be awesome.

031

Since I had free time, I went by the sea, Black sea that is. The smell of the sea was much more different then I remember Baltic Sea (where I’m from). Black sea seemed to have a lot of iodine in it.

The beach was busy,but I guess most of the people were still sleeping in, and the

029

weather was going to get better as the forecast has predicted.

The main activity on the beach was wind surfing.🙂 Lots of kids were trying it out.

Around 2pm, I went back to the hotel, ate and got ready for my first day. I wasn’t

016sure what I would need, so I took a whole-bag-full of stuff.

Later on I was picked up by my trainman, and drove me to  that we could start our horse tour. It lasted for about hour and half.

My horse’s name was Rim (Rome in English). He was very patient with me; my

095

last time on horse was about two years ago, so I knew I was going to be in pain tomorrow.🙂

We went up the mountains and visited tea plantations. It was my first time seeing tea plantations, kind of exciting since I can’t live without tea.

Tea plantations, Dagomys, Russia

I wasn’t the only person who came alone, and a funny thing to me turned out that most of the people were females.🙂

Our group was really friendly and so were our tour guides. I think that we were going to have a great time for the next 9 days!

I was told that other girls will join me in hotel the next day, so it would be easier to carry on throughout this trip.🙂

Posted on September 23, 2011, in Everyday life, Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great pictures! How was your horse tour?

  2. It was quite interesting to read about your trip to Dagomys. I think about this from a geographer’s perspective. One thing of note is that this is the northernmost tea plantation in the world. I actually have a blog entry about it: http://pangeographic.blogspot.com/2013/07/northernmost-tea-plantation-in-world.html

  1. Pingback: Vacation time? « Xenia Nova

Your thoughts and comments:

